Distance and Independent Studies Center

As one of TU Kaiserslautern's central service departments, the Distance and Independent Studies Center (DISC) provides information and services to all students enrolled at TU Kaiserslautern, whether in an on-campus program or via distance learning courses.

The DISC is an outgrowth of the former "Center for Distance Learning and University Further Education", which was established at the University of Kaiserslautern in 1992. Today, after years of steady development, the DISC offers students a wide range of varied and attractive services.

Distance Learning Programs

The facility is one of Germany’s leading providers of post graduate distance learning programs and has 20 years of experience in the design and development of academic courses for guided self-directed studies. The masters programs and university level certificate programs offered by DISC in the subject areas "Human Resources," "Management & Law," and "Science & Engineering," are internationally recognized.

Self-directed Learning Center

In addition to distance learning programs, the DISC offers various courses for continuing education to students enrolled full-time at TU Kaiserslautern. This means they can also use the services of the Self-directed Learning Center (SLZ) to improve their self-directed study skills. The Self-directed Learning Days in Diemerstein, for example, have been part of the Self-directed Learning Center at the DISC now for several semesters.

e-Teaching Service Center

The e-Teaching Service Center (eTSC) complements the Distance and Independent Studies Centers (DISC) and supports teaching and learning by means of online-based concepts and modern teaching technologies. Various e-learning formats and tools are available for specific teaching/learning objectives: from lecture recordings and online-based tutorials; from classic learning management systems to Web 2.0 applications like Wikis, Blogs, and Podcasts. The team at the e-Teaching Service Center assists teachers in the use of digital teaching media for the class and supports the development of the presentation concept as well as the practical implementation.

  • More information

Visitor address

Distance and Independent Studies Center (DISC)

Erwin-Schrödinger-Straße,
Gebäude 57
D-67663 Kaiserslautern

Telefon: +49-631-205-4925
Telefax: +49-631-205-4940
E-Mail:  info(at)disc.uni-kl.de

Zum Seitenanfang

Distance and Independent Studies Center

DISTANCE AND INDEPENDENT STUDIES CENTER

Als zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern (TUK) bietet das Distance and Independent Studies Center (DISC) wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung und diverse Dienstleistungen sowohl für die Fernstudierenden als auch für die Präsenzstudierenden und Lehrenden der TUK an.

Fernstudiengänge

Hervorgegangen aus dem Zentrum für Fernstudien und Universitäre Weiterbildung, das 1992 an der Kaiserslauterer Universität gegründet wurde, ist das seitdem stark gewachsene DISC heute einer der führenden Anbieter postgradualer Fernstudiengänge in Deutschland.

Das DISC bietet berufsbegleitende Fernstudienangebote aus den Bereichen Human Resources, Management & Law und Science & Engineering an. Dazu gehören deutsch- und englischsprachige Masterstudiengänge sowie Zertifikatstudiengänge und -kurse. 

Zu den Fernstudienangeboten

Selbstlernzentrum

Neben dem Fernstudium hält das DISC diverse Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten für die Präsenzstudierenden der TUK bereit. So können Studierende die Angebote des Selbstlernzentrums (SLZ) nutzen und damit ihre Selbstlern- und Selbstführungskompetenzen stärken. Die Diemersteiner Selbstlerntage, zum Beispiel, gehören schon seit einigen Semestern zum bewährten Programm des SLZ am DISC.

 

 

 

 

Weitere Informationen

eTeaching Service Center

Das Portfolio des DISC wird mit dem eTeaching Service Center (eTSC) komplementiert, welches das Lehren und Lernen mit online-basierten Konzepten und zeitgemäßen Unterrichtstechnologien an der TUK unterstützt. Den Lehrenden und Studierenden stehen dabei diverse E-Learning-Formate zur Verfügung: von Vorlesungsaufzeichnungen bis hin zu online-basierten Tutorials, vom klassischen Learning Management System bis hin zu Web 2.0-Anwendungen wie Wikis, Blogs und Podcasts. Das eTeaching Service Center Team berät dabei die Lehrenden über den Einsatz digitaler Bildungsmedien in ihrer Lehre und unterstützt sie bei der didaktischen Konzeption sowie der praktischen Umsetzung.

Weitere Informationen

Besucheranschrift

Erwin-Schrödinger-Straße,
Gebäude 57
D-67663 Kaiserslautern

Telefon: +49 631 205-4925
E-Mail:  info(at)disc.uni-kl.de

Zum Seitenanfang